You are here:

Latest news

New Cabinet officially appointed

Published on Thursday, 20th May 2021

During a full Council meeting yesterday evening, the Conservative Party officially appointed their Cabinet members.

Having won a majority at the recent local elections and therefore taking full control of Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council, the Conservatives have now officially appointed their Cabinet.

Each Cabinet member is responsible for a specific policy area, known as a portfolio. In addition to the usual five Cabinet members, a new ‘Business and Regeneration’ portfolio holder position has been created to focus on delivering major regeneration of the Borough’s towns and to encourage businesses growth.

Positions of Civic Mayor and Deputy Mayor were also appointed at the meeting. The Mayor carries out ceremonial duties as ‘First Citizen’ of the Borough and chairs Council meetings. The appointments were made as follows:

Leader of the Council - Cllr Kristofer Wilson

Deputy Leader - Cllr Clare Golby

Mayor - Cllr Rob Tromans

Deputy Mayor – Cllr Jeff Clarke

Portfolio Holders:

Cllr Samuel Croft (Galley Common) – Finance and Corporate

Cllr Kyle Evans (Slough) – Public Services

Cllr Clare Golby (Arbury) - Housing and Communities

Cllr Julian Gutteridge (Whitestone) – Health and Environment

Cllr Richard Smith (Bulkington) – Planning and Regulation

Cllr Kristofer Wilson (Whitestone) – Business and Regeneration


Leader of Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council, Cllr Wilson said:

“We were elected on a manifesto of Vision, Ambition and Aspiration for our Borough. The Cabinet that we have in place are all committed to driving forward the change that our communities have needed for so long.

“We bring fresh blood, fresh ideas and a fresh outlook to the challenges that we face. As we come out of Covid we are determined to build back better and unlock the potential that Nuneaton and Bedworth has for the future.”